Issue Date:August 06, 2020
 

Coretronic has maximized its energy usage efficiency and achieved the goal of reducing greenhouse gas emissions through inspection of energy consumption, improvement of equipment efficiency, management of energy usage and establishment of renewable energy equipment.

 
GHG Emissions
  • Coretronic regularly implements the greenhouse gas inventory each year according to ISO 14064-1 standards to fully grasp the current use status of the greenhouse gas and serve as a verification of the reduction results. Currently, there are no regulations specifying the requirement for inventory and reduction control, but we have established the goals of greenhouse gas reduction in different phases and reviewed them accordingly every year for continuous improvement. Meanwhile, through inventorying the energy consumption, improving the equipment efficiency, managing the status of energy use, and establishing renewable energy equipment, we maximized the energy utility rate to reach the goal of greenhouse gas reduction.
  • Coretronic established the internal management mechanism for the self-inventory of greenhouse gas emissions since 2009 and the plants in Taiwan hired SGS to conduct the ISO 14064-1 greenhouse gas inventory since 2016. Besides, in 2019, the Wujiang Plant was included in the self-inventory and the disclosure of carbon emission data to synchronize the energy management measures and expand the scope of management.
  • In 2019, the total greenhouse gas emission of the plants in Taiwan decreased by 19% in comparison to 2015 and the carbon emission intensity decreased by 1% compared to 2018. This was due to the decrease in consumption of purchased electricity, the response of the energy saving policy by the plants and the execution of the energy saving measures in multiple aspects, such as: the air compressor and the chiller operation management, energy use management as well as the improvement of the lighting energy at night to reduce the total power consumption.
  • To review and manage other indirect greenhouse gas (Scope 3) emissions, Coretronic self inventoried other parts of the indirect greenhouse gas emissions (Scope 3) since 2019. Except Scope 1 and Scope 2 listed in the inventory, we added the inventory of other indirect greenhouse gas emissions (Scope 3), including the indirect emission of the purchased electricity and the transportation emission of the outsourced waste disposal. The total emission was 3,676.1 tonCO2e, accounting for 28.3% of the total emissions. In the future, we will introduce ISO 14064-1:2018.
 
Area Taiwan China (Wujiang)
Item 2017 2018 2019 2019
Direct Emissions (Scope 1) 351.97 320.17 262.2 479,651.0
Indirect Emissions (Scope 2) 11,485.33 12,021.58 9,029.4 11,786.0
Total CO2e Emissions (ton) 11,837.30 12,341.75 9,291.6 491,437.0
Revenue (NT$100m)1 280.1 261.6 198.7 84.1
CO2e Emissions Intensity
ton/revenue (NT$100m)
42.26 47.18 46.8 5,840.7

1: The total revenue of plants in Taiwan (Coretronic, Young Green Energy, Coretronic Intelligent Cloud Service, Coretronic Intelligent Robotics, uCare Medical Electronics, Champ Vision Display, InnoSpectra, and Coretronic MEMS) and in Wujiang,China.  

 

Energy Management Policy

Upholding the duty as a corporate citizen, we spare no effort to implement environmental and social responsibilities while operating the company and developing technology. Therefore, we established the Energy Management System Promotion Committee in 2016 to actively promote the continual improvement plans and activities of various energy conservation measures. In addition, to implementing an energy management system meeting international standards, we have established an energy management policy and made the following commitments:

  1. Continuously improve energy performance and reduce energy consumption costs.
  2. Implement the energy management system and reduce GHG emissions.
  3. Abide by energy regulations and prioritize procurements of energy-efficient products.
  4. Improve the green corporate image and promote eco-design and green production.
  5. Secure acquisition of information and resources to achieve energy and resources targets.
  • The main energy consumption of Coretronic was electricity, natural gas, gasoline, and diesel while electricity was the largest source of consumption. The total energy consumption in Taiwan was 62,646 GJ and 69,241 GJ in China in 2019. The total annual electricity consumption was 60,986 GJ (accounted for 97%) in Taiwan and 62,852 GJ (accounted for 91%) in China. The proportions of the natural gas, gasoline, and diesel consumption did not reach 5%, respectively. Each plant proposed programs to improve the energy resource utility rate and reviewed the implementation statute of the goal regularly by the Environment Protection Committee. In 2019, to improve the safety of the plant area, the Headquarters changed to use electricity for food services which resulted in 2% increase of the total energy consumption in Taiwan compared to 2018.
  • The plants in China participated in the improvement plan for energy saving since 2018. To respond to and prepare for the extreme weather caused by global warming and climate change, the plants used the energy-saving lighting equipment, introduced the energy-saving measures to the air-conditioning system, and reviewed and shared the improvement actions with the Environment Protection Committee on a quarterly basis. To effectively reduce the energy consumption, each plant area planned the improvement plan for the air conditioning and lighting equipment in 2020 to increase the efficiency of energy use.
  • The Chunan Office introduced the ISO 50001 energy management system and acquired the certificate in 2016. A committee for energy management system promotion was established with full-time energy management personnel to establish the energy management policy and employee proposal and award systems. By the systematic management of energy use, we regularly review the benefit of energy saving improvement and constantly promote energy-saving measures and related promotion activities. There were 72 energy-saving programs implemented and the amount of reduced electricity accumulated to 173,800 degrees from 2015 to 2019. The electricity consumption decreased by 11% in 2019 in comparison to 2015.
  • By setting the annual energy-saving goal of “reaching above 1% of the annual power saving rate on average,” the Chunan Office has achieved this goal for 5 consecutive years. A definite goal of the renewable energy use stating that “the renewable energy use/generation occupying 1% of the total electricity consumption of the plant during 2018~2020” was accomplished both in 2018 and 2019.  
Status of Energy Consumption in 2019
Area Taiwan China
Item Consumption GJ Consumption GJ
Electricity (KWH) 16,940,745 60,986 17,459,033 62,852
Natural Gas (m3) 30,267 1,140 107,195 3,814
Diesel (L) 1,393 48 3,100 110
Petroleum (L) 14,484 472 78,861 2,465
Total Consumption (GJ) 62,646 69,241
Sales Intensity Annual Total Consumption (GJ) / Revenue1 (NT$100m) 315 226

1: The total revenue of plants in Taiwan (Coretronic, Young Green Energy, Coretronic Intelligent Cloud Service, Coretronic Intelligent Robotics, uCare Medical Electronics, Champ Vision Display, InnoSpectra, and Coretronic MEMS) and in Wujiang,China.  

 

Renewable Energy Certificate

  • In response to the global trend of green energy and the related policies of renewable energy certificate, Coretronic has bought green power and renewable energy certificate.
  • In 2018, according to the Tainan City Self-Government Ordinance for a Low-Carbon City, Tainan branch office established a solar power system with a capacity of 263.19 KWH on the roof of the plant. In addition, a solar system monitoring display were created in the hall of Tainan branch office, to display the related information about power generation of the system, as a demonstration the Company's green energy achievement to our employees and customers.
  • We will use the solar power system in Tainan branch office as a demonstration zone of green energy, and we look forward to promoting the green energy policy and assessing the possibility of establishing relevant green energy facilities in all plants in the future.  
    Measure Year Amount (KWH) Emission Reduction (tonCO2e)
    Green Power 2016~2017 200,000 108.4
    Renewable Energy Certificate 2018~2019 100,000 54.3
    Solar Power System 2018~ 358,000 191.8
Energy-saving Measures and Performance

Since 2015, we have reduced electricity consumption by implementing energy-saving projects in three directions, including HAVC systems, electric lamps, and other electricity consumption. In 2019, plants in Wujiang started doing 146 energy-saving activities with us, and a total of about 7,240,000 KWH of electricity was saved. This result is equivalent to reducing 3,985 tonCO2e.

更新日期:2020年08月06日
 

碳管理

  • 中強光電每年定期依ISO 14064-1標準實施溫室氣體盤查,以完整掌握溫室氣體使用現況並作為減量成效之驗證。現階段雖未受法規管制需進行盤查及減量管制,但中強光電已分階段設定溫室氣體減量目標,並每年進行檢討以持續改善。同時也透過盤查能源耗用、提升設備效率、管理能源使用狀態及建置再生能源設備,發揮最大能源使用率,以達溫室氣體減量目標。
  • 中強光電自2009年即建立內部管理機制,自主性盤查溫室氣體排放情形,2016年起台灣廠區每年委由SGS進行ISO 14064-1溫室氣體查證,另外,2019年起加入吳江廠區自主性盤查及揭露碳排放數據,同步能源管理措施,擴大管理範圍。
  • 台灣廠區2019年溫室氣體排放總量較2015年減少19%,碳排放強度較2018年減少1%,係因外購電力使用量下降,各廠區響應節能政策並多面向執行節能措施,如:空壓機、冰水主機運作管理、夜間能源使用管理及照明節能改善等,使整體用電量下降。
  • 為檢視及管理其他間接溫室氣體(範疇三)排放量,中強光電2019年起自主盤查部份其他間接溫室氣體盤查(範疇三),除原本已列入盤查的範疇一及範疇二,新增外購電力間接排放及廢棄物委外處理運輸排放之其他間接溫室氣體盤查(範疇三)盤查,其排放總量為3,676.1 tonCO2e,佔總排放量28.3%。未來將導入ISO 14064-1:2018。
 
地區 台灣 大陸-吳江廠
項目 2017年 2018年 2019年 2019年
直接排放(範疇一) 351.97 320.17 262.2 479,651.0
間接排放(範疇二) 11,485.33 12,021.58 9,029.4 11,786.0
CO2e排放總計(噸) 11,837.30 12,341.75 9,291.6 491,437.0
營業額(億元)1 280.1 261.6 198.7 84.1
CO2e排放強度
噸/每億元營業額
42.26 47.18 46.8 5,840.7

1:2019年營業額含台灣廠區(中強光電、揚光綠能、中光電智能雲服、中光電智能機器人、宇康醫電、誠屏科技、譜鉅科技、中光電智能感測)及吳江廠區(蘇州璨鴻光電及蘇州璨宇光電)。

 
 

能源管理政策

秉持企業公民的職責,在經營企業與發展科技的同時,落實對環境及社會的責任,因此,我們於2016年成立能源管理系統推行委員會,積極實踐各項節能措施之持續改善計畫與活動。此外,為推動符合國際標準之能源管理系統,我們制訂能源管理政策並承諾:

  1. 持續改善能源績效,降低能源使用成本。
  2. 落實能源管理系統,降低溫室氣體排放。
  3. 確實遵守能源法規,優先採購節能產品。
  4. 強化綠色企業形象,推動綠色設計生產。
  5. 確保資訊資源取得,達成能源目標標的。
  • 中強光電能源使用主要為電力、天然氣、汽油及柴油,2019年台灣區能源總消耗量為62,646 GJ,大陸區為69,241 GJ,最大宗為電力使用,台灣區年度總用電量60,986 GJ(佔97%)、大陸區62,852 GJ(佔91%),天然氣、汽油及柴油耗用量佔比皆未達5%。各廠擬訂能資源使用率改善方案,並透過環保委員會定期檢視目標狀況。台灣區2019年能源總消耗量較2018年增加2%,係因力行廠為提升廠區安全性,將團膳烹煮方式改以電力烹煮之緣故。
  • 大陸廠區自2018年開始加入節能改善計劃,使用節能照明設備、空調系統導入節能措施,每季與環保委員會檢視及分享改善作為,為全球暖化與氣候變遷所造成的極端氣候做因應準備。2020年,各廠區為使能源有效減低耗用,規劃空調、照明設備等改善案,以期提升能源使用效率。
  • 竹南廠2016年導入ISO 50001能源管理系統並取得驗證,亦設有能源管理系統推行委員會及專職能源管理人員以訂立能源管理政策、員工提案及獎勵制度,再透過系統化管理能源使用,定期檢視節能改善效益,持續推動節能措施及相關宣導活動。2015-2019年共進行72個節能方案並累積減少173.8萬度電,2019年用電量較2015年減少11%。
  • 竹南廠設立年度節能目標-「每年平均節電率達1%」並連續五年達標;也於2019年訂立明確再生能源使用目標-「2018~2020年再生能源使用/發電量佔全廠用電量1%」,2018及2019年皆達標。
能源使用狀況
地區 台灣 大陸
項目 耗用量 換算成吉焦耳 耗用量 換算成吉焦耳
電力(KWH) 16,940,745 60,986 17,459,033 62,852
天然氣(m3) 30,267 1,140 107,195 3,814
柴油(L) 1,393 48 3,100 110
汽油(L) 14,484 472 78,861 2,465
總耗用(GJ) 62,646 69,241
銷售密集度
年度總用電量(GJ)/營業額(億)1
315 226

1:2019年營業額含台灣廠區(中強光電、揚光綠能、中光電智能雲服、中光電智能機器人、宇康醫電、誠屏科技、譜鉅科技、中光電智能感測)及大陸廠區(蘇州璨鴻光電、蘇州璨宇光電、昆山揚皓光電、昆山揚燁光電)。

 
 

再生能源使用

  • 為響應國際綠能趨勢及經濟部再生能源憑證政策,公司自2016年起透過購買綠色電力及再生能源憑證來展現使用再生能源之決心。
  • 為響應台南市低碳城市建構陽光電城計畫,南科廠於2018年建置263.19度太陽能發電系統設備於廠區屋頂,展現公司在綠能發展的企圖心。此外,為向同仁及客戶展現公司綠色能源績效,於南科廠大廳設置太陽能系統監控顯示器,明確呈現系統發電相關資訊。
  • 未來將以南科廠區之太陽能發電系統作為綠色能源示範區,並推廣至各廠區,進而評估設置相關綠色能源設施。  
    措施 購置年份 購置數量 (KWH) 減碳量 (tonCO2e)
    綠色電力 2016~2017 200,000 108.4
    再生能源憑證 2018~2019 100,000 54.3
    太陽能發電系統 2018~ 358,000 191.8

節能措施與績效

中強光電2015年開始進行能源管理,除訂定明確節能目標及展開管理措施外,分別從空調系統、電力照明及其他用電三大面向執行節電方案。2019年起,大陸-吳江廠區也一起執行節能活動,共執行146件節能方案,節電總度數達724萬度,減碳3,985 tonCO2e,相當於10.3座大安森林公園年吸碳量。