Issue Date:July 30, 2021
 

In support of the sustainability thought across the world, we began promoting green product actions in 2004, with green material, green design, and green manufacture as the main features of our green product management system. Apart from promoting green product development, we enable more products to pass Green Mark certification to meet the goal of sustainable development.

 

Green Material

In addition to introducing the green accounting system to collect and analyze green purchase performance, Coretronic purchased green materials to thoroughly implement green supply chain management. The total purchase amount of green materials for the plants in Taiwan and China in 2020 occupied 90% and 99%, respectively, of the total purchase amount in the same year.
 

Area Taiwan China
Year 2018 2019 2020 2018 2019 2020
The amount of green material procurement (100 millions of NTD) 83.59 57.64 43.12 51.45 67.08 110.55
The amount of material procurement (100 millions of NTD) 84.92 59.30 47.92 55.44 69.26 111.88
The percentage of green material procurement (%) 98% 97% 90% 93% 97% 99%
 

Green Design

Product Carbon Footprint Inventory

The carbon emission at each phase of the product life circle can be analyzed with reference to the carbon footprint inventory. The product subject to carbon footprint inventory in 2020 was the backlight module for 12”screens. The result of the inventory showed a carbon footprint of 2.67 kgCO2e/pcs (i.e. 0.0105kg of carbon footprint per gram of products), 29.8% less than the carton footprint of the same product in 2019. Due to the package reduction design, improvement for manufacture, and various energy-saving measures, Coretronic successfully reduced the product carbon emission.
 

Package Reduction Design

To realize environmental values, we optimize the packaging design, use recycled paper to make wrappings, and adopt environment-friendly ink to print and simplify packaging.

Molded Pulp
Molded Pulp

Molded pulp is made of recycled waste paper. In 2017 Q1, we began verifying molded paper packaging materials with the drop test and the storage test. After passing the tests, it will be used in packaging. Such kind of natural, non-toxic, lead free, decomposable, pollution free, and waste free buffering material can effectively reduce the variety packaging materials and the quantity of packaging. Along with soy ink printing and package simplification, everything is eco-friendly. In 2020, 69% products used molded pulp.

Size Reduction
Design-Size Reduction

Package volume is reduced to improve container efficiency. Products can be stacked to save storage space and improve the transportation loading rate. It has been applied to the product platforms of T100 and A65 projector to improve the marine transportation loading rate by 67% and 33%, respectively. It is estimated that each product will reduce 300 kgCO2e and 195 kgCO2e respectively, and reduce carbon by 28% and 16% respectively.

Education and Training

To enhance and optimize the efficiency of energy-saving products, and merge the eco-friendly, energy-saving, and 3R (reduce, recycle, reuse) concept into the design and development of products, so as to continuously develop energy-saving products, we arranged 11 courses related to green solutions, 378 persons received the courses, totaling 499 man-hours.

Energy-Saving Design
Projectors and Visual Solution
  • In 2020, the product platform of A65 projector incorporated the product lightweight program, using lightweight materials to reduce product weight and reduce fuel consumption in marine transportation, and it is estimated that each product can reduce 137 kgCO2e and reduce carbon by 11.7%.
  • 25% of the projector products incorporate optimized optical and electrical design to improve overall product performance, which is estimated to save 10.34 GWh of electricity and 5,261 tonCO2e per year.
  • The safe auto off function (including automatically shut off without input signals and sleep mode)
  • Electricity consumption in the standard operation mode and standby mode complies with the energy-efficiency standard specified by the Environmental Protection Administration.
  • Reducing the design of back-end process (electroplating, paint spraying, and printing) of products.
  • Use of LED and laser eco-friendly solid-state illumination (SSI) and other mercury-free materials for a completely mercury-free projector.
  • Compared to traditional short throw projectors, projectors using LED and laser SSI have a five-time longer life without the need of bulb replacement to reduce environmental protection.
Backlight Module
  • The innovative microstructure design of light guide plate improves the optical brightness of IML energy-conserving light guide and reduces the power consumption of lighting by 10%. In 2020, a total of 104,811 pieces of backlights were produced, saving 321,351 kWh of electricity and 163.6 tonCO2e of carbon.
  • The thickness of the customer's optical laminate film has been improved and thinned down to 0.32 from the original thickness of 0.45, with no change in performance and a 29% reduction in weight. 638,205 pieces of backlights were produced in 2020. The overall weight decreased by 71,018kg and 146.3 tonCO2e of carbon emissions was reduced.

Light Guide Plate (LGP)
  • Regulate the production temperature and save 0.25 kWh of electricity per hour. In 2020, the production hours were 1,316.7 hours, with electricity saving of 329.2 kWh and carbon reduction of 0.2 tonCO2e.
  • The optimized optical microstructure design of the light guide plate makes the product thinner and lighter, and also achieves the optical design requirements, so that the thickness of the thin light guide plate is reduced by 20% and the weight is reduced by 30%. 8,089 pieces of 13.3” LGPs were produced in 2020. The overall weight decreased by 118kg and 0.2 tonCO2e of carbon emissions was reduced.

Green Process

At Corecentric, we continue to promote clean production and reduce pollution to improve environmental protection and lower costs to enhance economic efficiency, in order to pursue sustainable business. Clean production refers to “persistently apply integrated and preventive environmental strategies in processes, products, and services to enhance eco-efficiency and reduce hazards on human beings and the environment.” Upholding our responsibility for products and the environment, and aiming to pursue eco-efficiency and sustainable development, we save energy, reduce the use of hazardous substances, reduce the production and emission of pollutants, dispose industrial waste and recycle resources, update design concepts by including environmental factors in design and service provision through the management of materials, equipment, gauges and tools, consumables, personnel, and the operating environment.
 

Packaging Materials Re-Use

Coretronic’s Energy-Saving Business Group in Taiwan carried out 4 wrapping recycle measures in 2020 with a recycling rate of 96%. As for the recycling performance in terms of the number of recycled wrappings, 93.6% of trays, 63.4% of pallets, 100% of plastic pads, and 100% of paper cartons were recycled to the amount of 79.9 tons. They were reused to reduce the pollution of the waste to the environment. The benefit of carbon reduction was 164.6 tonCO2e (an output of 2.06 tonCO2e per tones of waste according to the Low Carbon Sustainable Information System).
 

Circular Economy Collaboration
  • The collaboration with local transport service suppliers has been implemented since 2017. Pallet prototypes have been recycled under the collaboration and reused for transport. 480.5 tons of wood pallets have been recycled from 2017 to 2020 with a carbon reduction of 989.9 tonCO2e and a cost saving of NTD 2.16 million thanks to the reduced purchase of wood pallets and disposal of waste.
  • The waste cartons and cultural paper for printing, books or newspaper produced during the manufacture process and by the offices of the plants in Taiwan were transported to the top-3 paper manufacturers in Taiwan (Cheng Loong, Yuen Foong Yu, and Long Chen) for recycling through legal environment-friendly wast disposal service suppliers. Paper products made from 80%~100% recycled pulp and attached with the Green Mark were purchased from their downstream manufacturers to support the “Resources Recycling and Reusing Program” of the Environmental Protection Administration and achieve the goals of “recycle of wastes to displace exploitation of natural resources, full circulation of materials, and zero waste.” In 2020, 122,559 shipping cartons made from recycled pulp and attached with the Green Mark were purchased for the plants in Taiwan.

Product End Processing Tracking

To ensure legal use of recycled products, Coretronic establishes explicit waste management regulations and performs on-site inspection of the legal compliance and back-end disposition capability of the waste disposal service suppliers every year. If any nonconformities are identified, guidance is provided with an admonition received by the supplier concerned, and the nonconformities are subject to follow-up actions for improvement. If nonconformities are removed notwithstanding, the waste disposal agreement will be terminated to ensure legal and appropriate disposal of wastes. In 2020, audits of 10 suppliers rendering the services of wood pallet recycle and disposal of industrial and hazardous industrial waste and waste electronic components were scheduled and completed with a completion rate of 100%. The results of the audits did not show any nonconformities.

更新日期:2021年07月28日
 

中強光電為響應國際綠色永續思維,從2004年開始即積極推動綠色產品行動,以「綠色原物料」、「綠色設計」及「綠色製程」為綠色產品管理系統之主軸,致力推動綠色產品發展,並使更多產品取得環保標章,以符合永續發展的目標。

 

綠色原物料

中強光電導入綠色會計制度來蒐集及分析綠色採購績效,亦積極採購綠色原物料以徹底落實綠色供應鏈管理。台灣及大陸廠區2020年綠色原物料總採購金額佔總採購金額比例分別為90%及99%。
 

地區 台灣 大陸
年份 2018年 2019年 2020年 2018年 2019年 2020年
綠色原物料總採購金額(億元) 83.59 57.64 43.12 51.45 67.08 110.55
原物料總採購金額(億元) 84.92 59.30 47.92 55.44 69.26 111.88
綠色原物料採購金額比例(%) 98% 97% 90% 93% 97% 99%
 


綠色設計

產品碳足跡盤查

  • 透過碳足跡盤查可分析產品生命週期各階段碳排放量。2020年碳足跡盤查產品為12吋螢幕背光模組,由盤查結果得知產品碳足跡為2.67 kgCO2e/pcs(每公克產品產生0.0105kg碳排放),相較2019年10吋平板電腦背光模組產品碳足跡為1.05 kgCO2e/pcs(每公克產品產生0.0149 kg碳排放),降低29.8%碳足跡。
  • 產品碳足跡下降,係因減積減材輕量化設計、改善生產節能、落實多元化電力節能措施,方能達到產品碳足跡減量成效。

 

產品包裝減量設計

為落實環保理念,我們優化產品包裝設計、使用回收廢紙製成綠色包材、採用環保油墨印刷及簡化包裝。

紙塑
紙塑

以回收廢紙為原料,紙塑包材從2017年第一季開始進行驗證,驗證方式包含落摔測試(Drop Test)及儲存測試(Storage test)兩種,通過後即可使用。這種順應自然、無毒、無鉛、可分解、不汙染、不浪費之緩衝材,可有效減少包材種類、包裝減量,以及使用環保油墨印刷及簡化包裝等,符合環保理念。2020年投影機出貨機台使用紙塑包材比率達69%,較2019年增加3%。

縮小體積
縮小包裝材積

縮小包裝材積,提升貨櫃效能,產品可堆疊,節省儲存空間提升運輸裝載率,目前已應用於T100與A65投影機產品平台,分別提升67%及33%海運運輸裝載率,預估每台產品分別減少300 kgCO2e與195 kgCO2e,分別減碳28%與16%。

教育訓練

為提升和優化節能產品效率,並將環保意識注入產品設計理念,使節能和3R(減量-Reduce、回收-Recycle、再利用-Reuse)設計技術融入產品開發作業中,以持續創造節能產品。2020年綠色產品開發相關課程,包含「綠色環保設計」及「專利簡介」共11堂課,共378人次參與課程,總訓練時數為499人時。

產品設計

投影機暨影像解決方案
投影機暨影像解決方案
  • 2020年於A65投影機產品平台導入產品輕量化計畫,選用輕質材料以減輕產品重量,減少海運運輸油耗,預估每台產品可減少137 kgCO2e,減碳11.7%
  • 25%投影機產品導入優化光電設計,提升產品整體效能,預估每年約可節省1,034萬度電,減碳5,261 tonCO2e
  • 標準操作模式及待機模式狀態之耗電量符合歐盟訂定之省能標準
  • 安全自動關機功能(含無訊源自動關機與睡眠關機)
  • 視產品類別,減少產品需要後製程的設計(如電鍍、噴漆、印刷等)
  • 採用LED、雷射環保的固態光源(SSI),以及其他無汞材料,推出整機完全不含汞的投影機
  • 相較傳統燈泡投影機,LED及雷射投影機之光源使用壽命最高可增加5倍,不需更換燈泡,降低對環境的污染
背光模組
背光板
  • 節能技術提升:藉由創新微結構導光板設計,提高IML節能導光板光學輝度,相對降低10%照明耗電功率。2020年共生產104,811片背光板,可節省321,351度電,減碳163.6 tonCO2e。
  • 減積且薄型化:客戶光學複合膜厚度薄化,原使用厚度0.45,下修厚度至0.32,效能不變,重量卻減少29%。2020生產約638,205片背光板,整體減重共71,018公斤,減碳146.3 tonCO2e。

導光板
  • 製程節能改善:調節生產溫度,每小時節電0.25度。2020年生產工時為1,316.7小時,節電329.2度,減碳0.2 tonCO2e。
  • 優化機構設計:優化導光板光學微機構設計,使產品更加輕薄,亦達到光學設計要求,使薄板導光板厚度減少20%,重量減少30%。2020年共生產8,089片13.3吋導光板,整體減重118公斤,減碳0.2 tonCO2e。

綠色製程

中強光電持續推動清潔生產及污染改善工作,並以追求「生態效益」及「永續發展」為目標,在物料/設備/治工具/耗材/人員/作業環境的管理上,節省能源、消減有害物質的使用、減少污染物的產生和排放、處理事業廢棄物與資源回收,並更新設計觀念,將環境因素納入企業設計和所提供的服務中。
 

包材再利用

中強光電台灣廠區2020年共實施4項包裝材料回收措施,總回收率96%。回收成果以回收件數統計,分別為Tray盤93.6%、棧板63.4%、塑膠墊100%及紙箱100%,共回收79.9噸包材再利用,降低廢棄對環境造成的污染,減碳效益達164.6 tonCO2e(根據低碳永續家園資訊網,每公噸廢棄物產出2.06 tonCO2e)。


循環經濟聯盟
  • 自2017年起,已連續4年與當地運輸供應商合作,回收棧板原型並再次利用於物流運輸。2017~2020年共回收480.5噸木棧板,減碳量達989.9 tonCO2e,減少木棧板購入及廢棄物處理費用共新台幣216.2萬元。
  • 製程及辦公室產出之廢棄紙箱、影印及書報等文化用紙,透過合法環保清運業者,將廢紙送至國內三大造紙廠(正隆、永豐餘及榮成)進行廢紙再生,並向其下游紙器廠購買由80%~100%回收紙漿製成之具環保標章紙器產品,以響應環保署「資源回收再利用推動計畫」,達成「廢棄物資源化、替代自然資源開採、物質全循環、零廢棄」的願景目標。2020年共購買122,559個回收紙漿製成之紙箱供產品出貨使用。

產品末端處理追蹤

中強光電為確保再利用產品之流向合法,除訂定明確的廢棄物管理作業程序外,亦每年針對廢棄物廠商進行法規符合度及後端處理能力之現場查核,如發現不符合者,進行輔導規勸並列入改善追蹤,如仍無法符合者,將終止清理合約,以確保廢棄物合法妥善處理。2020年共排定並完成10家木棧板再利用、事業廢棄物清除、廢電子零組件及有害事業廢棄物處理廠商稽核,稽核完成率100%,稽核結果無異常發現。